Inconvenience of Inconsistent Memory so Recap

Today’s post is largely for my benefit rather than any reader!

I haven’t managed to publish any posts for ages.  I could blame family stuff that has distracted me and indeed there is truth in this.  However I think this has more to do with my tendency to

  1. draft on paper
  2. lose the notebook
  3. buy another one and begin to sketch out another post
  4. lose this notebook
  5. forget I’m halfway through a post
  6. find the first notebook and begin to edit
  7. then find the second book and realise I’m either duplicating or going on off on tangents or simply waffling
  8. sort myself out and put notebooks in safe place so I don’t lose them and definitely, DEFINITELY know that I shall remember where they are
  9. forget where they are and so on.

Then I get to the stage of hitting the keyboard only to find I’ve already posted a similar entry.

So I’ve decided to summarise here the posts I’ve already done:

September 2014 – Quite a few posts for me from this month as I transferred stuff over from another site.  You really do need to read these in order so scroll down to the bottom of the screen.

  • Seven Stages of Managing – I’ve found that divide and conquer is the best way to tackle life.  If three teeny steps make up one normal stride, I’ll take the teeny steps as if you attempt a stride you may reach your goal or you will miss your target, stumble and fall over or freeze and be unable to attain it.  Completing a single teeny step requires less effort and by taking it I’ll be further forward, who knows I may then have the confidence to take the second teeny step.  Even if I run out of energy and can’t take the third I’m still two thirds of a stride further forward than I was.
  • This ended up being such a long post that I took my own advice and I broke it down into five more manageable posts.
  • Stuck in Traffic – the importance of patience and lack of self rebuke
  • Light at the End of the Tunnel – challenging the cliché that the destination should be focused on, for me it’s managing the journey
  • Out with the Old and In with the New – willingness to adapt, step back, assess and adapt again (split into 3 posts)

October 2014

  • Did You Know the Knees Know? – listening to the body and its weird indicators that I’m not good today.
  • The Great British Bake Off – the cruellest of programmes? – a sidestep into baking, a skill I wouldn’t have had if my schooling hadn’t of been interrupted and a favourite recipe

November 2014

  • The Annual Christmas Cake and Pudding Marathon begins – Encephalitis consequences can hinder but doesn’t have to triumph

December 2014

  • Who Am I? – a muddle of the pre-Encephalitis character and abilities and the post-Encephalitis level and experiences.

February 2015

  • Who Am I? Part 2 – combining the dual aspects of me continued
  • What Am I? – what role do I have in society now

And finally as a reminder to myself you’ve begun making notes on future posts on

  1. Handling Others
  2. Recognising my Value
  3. The Hope, Optimism, Realism Cycle
  4. The Importance of not confusing the Carrot and the Stick
  5. Shepherding Myself

who knows with a bit of luck I might get these done in the next couple of months.

Leave a comment